Hello world!

You can teach on old dog new tricks.  I’m living proof.  I’m 62 years old and I taught for a long time in the military before moving to teaching college.  When I started teaching we did use handouts, but not many, we relied on students reading their assignments from their books and taking notes.  Our visual stimulation consisted of live demonstrations and a few 35mm slides that we show from our projector.  Everything else was on the instructor.  That may or may not have been a good thing.   Today however we have a plethora of software both free and $$$ not so free.  I’d like to use this blog to highlight online resources and applications instructors can use to help their students succeed.    Some will be free, some will not but I would like to discuss them all.  I encourage folks to send me the resources they have found useful in transferring their course objectives and knowledge into their students.  I’d like to hear the good and the bad and if necessary the ugly as well.

I don’t have all the answers because none of us are as smart as all of us, so please let me know what you have found, what works and what doesn’t work.  I appreciate your input and help in making all of us better instructors and in turn produce better prepared students.

 

Chris

Leave a comment

Filed under Uncategorized

Leave a Reply

